Vivienne Dick : Between Truth and Fiction

DVD with 5 films by Vivienne Dick accompanied by a 100 page paperback book with essays on the filmmaker's work.

More details


Warning: Last items in stock!

28,50 €

Add to wishlist

Between Truth and Fiction includes both a 100 page full-colour publication, with newly-commissioned essays on Dick’s work, and a DVD of five selected films spanning the three decades of Dick’s practice.

Vivienne Dick (b. 1950, Ireland) is an internationally-celebrated film-maker and artist. A key figure of the ‘No Wave’ movement in  New York in the late 1970s and early 1980s, she has gone on to  develop an extraordinary body of work, which has been shown in cinemas, films festivals and art galleries around the world.

Shot on Super-8, 16mm and video, Dick’s film-making practice slips between fiction and documentary, using elements of both, along with fragmentary narrative, dislocated imagery  and compelling self-reflexive performances.

Between Truth and Fiction is co-published with The Crawford Gallery, Cork in conjunction with their show of Vivienne Dick’s work in autumn 2009.

Book editor: Treasa O’Brien
Book contributors: Maeve Connolly, Rachel Garfield, Bev Zalcock

DVD includes:
Beauty Becomes The Beast, 40 mins, Super-8 / video, 1979
Visibility Moderate, 45 mins, Super-8 / video, 1981  
Like Dawn to Dust, 6 mins, Super-8 / video, 1983    
A Skinny Little Man Attacked Daddy, 28 mins, video, 1994
Saccade, 3 mins, video, 2004

Author(s) Vivienne Dick
Artist(s) Vivienne Dick, Treasa O’Brien, Maeve Connolly, Rachel Garfield, Bev Zalcock
Format DVD9 PAL, Region 0, paperback
Original format Super 8, video
Year 1979-2004
Language(s) English
Runtime 123 min
Pages 100 pages
Publisher LUX

If you are buying this item for use in educational, cultural or library setting, you need to buy institutional rights.
After you added this item to your cart, please click on the link below to purchase the rights: