Sarah Pucill : Selected FIlms 1990-2010

DVD with 8 films by Sarah Pucill

More details


25,00 €

Add to wishlist

The films of award-winning British artist Sarah Pucill have been celebrated at film festivals world-wide and shown in cinemas and galleries internationally. At the core of her practice is a concern with mortality and the materiality of the filmmaking process. Many of her earlier films take place within the confinements of domestic space, where the grounded reality of the house itself becomes a portal to a complex and multi-layered psychical realm. Her most recent film Phantom Rhapsody marks a new departure. In its stark use of black and white, the film examines the appearance and disappearance of the phantom as it relates to the partial visibility of lesbian sexuality in the canons of both cinema and art history. The DVD consists of seven selected films spanning the two decades of Pucill's practice.

The DVD contains: "You Be Mother" 1990, 7 min "Backcomb" 1995, 6 min "Swollen Stigma" 1998, 20 min "Cast" 2000, 17 min "Stages Of Mourning" 2004, 17 min "Taking My Skin" 2006, 35 min "Phantom Rhapsody" 2010, 19 min

Extras :  26 page booklet with full film notes and 3 newly-commissioned essays by Lucy Reynolds, Cherry Smyth, and Margherita Sprio.

Author(s) Sarah Purcill
Format DVD9 PAL, Region 0
Original format 16mm
Year 1990-2010
Language(s) English
Runtime 112 min
Publisher LUX

If you are buying this item for use in educational, cultural or library setting, you need to buy institutional rights.
After you added this item to your cart, please click on the link below to purchase the rights: