From the Journals of Jean Seberg


DVD with a feature film by Mark Rappaport and 2 bonus shorts

 For orders destined for institutional use in North America, please contact GARTENBERG MEDIA.

More details


19,90 €

Add to wishlist

Mark Rappaport, a native of New York, worked as a film editor before making his own films, including The Scenic Route (1978), Impostors (1980), Postcards (1990) and Exterior Night (1994). His film-essays include Rock Hudson's Home Movies (1992), From the Journals of Jean Seberg (1995) and The Silver Screen / Color Me Lavender (1998). Many of his articles on cinema have been published in the French film journal 'Trafic' over the years, as well as in 'Cinema'. The spectator who knew too much is the first collection of his writings. In 2008, his photomontage film was screened for the first time at the Lincoln Center in New York, as part of the New York Film Festival. Mark Rappaport currently lives in Paris.

From the Journals of Jean Seberg
This deconstruction of the life and career of this Midwestern girl, Hollywood star at 19, New Wave icon at 21, and suicide at 40, is undertaken by Seberg herself, as embodied by Mary Beth Hurt. The spirit and inventiveness of Rappaport's script, combined with the endless flow of disillusioned observations and carefully chosen and nervously edited film extracts, make this film a remarkably stimulating piece.
From the Journals of Jean Seberg, 1995, 97 '
Becoming Anita Ekberg, 2014, 17 '
Debra Paget, For Example, 2016, 37 '
+ booklet of 50 pages

Mark Rappaport - From the Journals of Jean Seberg (trailer) from Re:Voir Video on Vimeo.

Author(s) Mark Rappaport
Artist(s) Mark Rappaport, Jean Seberg, Debra Paget, Anita Ekberg, Mary Beth Hurt
Format DVD9 PAL, Region ALL, 16:9, Stereo
Original format Video
Year 1995-2016
Language(s) English
Subtitles French
Runtime 151 min
Publisher RE:VOIR

If you are buying this item for use in educational, cultural or library setting, you need to buy institutional rights.
After you added this item to your cart, please click on the link below to purchase the rights: