Last Metro to Bleecker Street

Sale! Last Metro to Bleecker Street View larger

Novel by Peter Emanuel Goldman

More details

New

Warning: Last items in stock!

17,50 €

Add to wishlist

A gripping, lyrical, spiritual, erotic and despairing journey, Last Métro to Bleeker Street plunges the reader into the streets cafes, souls, poetry, folk music, sexual hunger and despair of Paris and New York's Greenwich Village of the 1960s. David, an Underground filmmaker, Richard, a former Catholic seminarian and Yeshiva student, now turned artist, and Kelly, a poet and coffee house waitress, roam the streets and haunt the cafes in a continual, but chaotic, search for experience, sex and meaning. Later, all three become religious, which creates new conflicts and deep fissures in their souls. A chance meeting in Jerusalem produces a shocking surprise. Years later, the horrors of terrorism, contemporary history and old age create new and final realities in their lives. The mix of fiction and memoir places the book in the tradition of Jack Kerouac, Henry Miller, Arthur Rimbaud, Lawrence Durrel, Anais Nin, and the gentle writings of Christopher Isherwood and Paul Zweig. The unique characters, uncompromising passion and flowing style set Last Métro to Bleeker Street apart from anything previously written, bringing the reader to the very essence of existence.

"Peter Goldman is the quintessential outsider, a true apostle of the unique." - Liberation, Paris, France

Author(s) Peter Emanuel Goldman
Artist(s) Peter Emanuel Goldman
Format Paperback
Year 2015
Language(s) English
Pages 309
Publisher Lions Gallery Press