Isao Yamada - Éphémère

ーDVD YAMAVICA PRIVATE COLLECTION Motoko Hattori with 6 films by artist and filmmaker Isao Yamada

More details


36,00 €

Add to wishlist

ISAO YMADA started his artistic career by working at Shuji Terayama's theatre company, Tenjousajiki. In 1974, he was appointed as an artistic crew for Terayama's feature-film, "Denen ni Shisu" (Pastoral: To Die in the Country). As a film director, Yamada's release includes "Anmonaito no sasayaki wo kiita" (Iʼve heard the ammoniteʼs murmur:1992), "Jouhatsu Tabinikki" (The Soul Odyssey: 2003) based on the essay by "Yoshiharu Tsuge", and "Shutorumu undo Doranku" (Sturm und Drang, 2014). In addition to his work in cinema, Yamada is also known for his work in manga, painting and graphic design. The calligraphic fonts used in his experimental films are all by his own hand writings. More information on the official site:

"The authentic physicality of Yamadaʼs films, which can be felt only when accompanied by the projector's clattering sound, cannot be reproduced digitally. Accepting this irony, however, three volumes of Yamavica Film Poetics dare to select and present Yamadaʼs works to be enjoyed in a private way, like savouring a vintage bottle of wine at home, or reading your favorite poems from your pocket."
-Ylva Salon

Girl Orphee (2001), 20min, colour, 8mm with music composed by Agata Morio
Winter flower (2003), 15min, colour, 8mm
Feel (2004), 15min, colour, 8mm
Chrysathemun Inspiration (2005), 20min, colour, 8mm
Winter has a dream (2008), 20min, colour, 8mm
Instant memory (2012), 34min, colour, 8mm
Reminiscence (2019), 26min, B&W and colour, 8mm

VIDEO CLIP (Winter has a dream, 2008)

Author(s) Isao Yamada
Format DVD, Region ALL, Stereo
Original format 8mm
Year 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2012, 2019
Language(s) Japanese (no dialogue)
Runtime 36 min + 20 min + 40 min +3 min
Publisher Kanshu Club

If you are buying this item for use in educational, cultural or library setting, you need to buy institutional rights.
After you added this item to your cart, please click on the link below to purchase the rights: